Chinese-Forums

Textbook Series to Switch to After NPCR 2?

withcoffee

• New Members

I have been learning Chinese for 5 months or so now on my own, and have finished both NPCR 1 and NPCR 2. I have added many of the characters to Memrise and know them all with good recall. Right now, I am spending two weeks going back through the audio files to improve my listening comprehension, as well as moving through the written dialogues again to see if there are any characters I have forgotten. 

I have gotten tired of NPCR, because there are lots of vocabulary words that seem far too specific for the level I am at, and my friends at university have said that NPCR 3 and 4 are even worse in this regard. What would you all recommend for a textbook series for me to switch to, having now finished NPCR 1 and 2? I would love a new series for those reasons and more -- I just think it would be new and fun. 

Thanks a lot!

I am a fan of NPCR but I explored the idea of using Integrated Chinese and have the first version of book 1. Not sure how it compares at higher levels but if I had to stop using NPCR I would use IC.

There is also lots of extra help and materials on line, have a look here http://ic.cheng-tsui.com/

There are podcasts, extend lesson materials and more. When you buy the book you can log on and open up the extras on the website.

I am on book 2 of NPCR and am thinking of adding another textbook at level 3 just to give me more options and to help round out my learning and I am seriously considering using IC.

My dad never learned English, because according to my mom, he's always starting from the ABC.

Life's too short.  Stop shopping for textbooks/apps/methods.  Get yourself up to the intermediate level as fast as you can, then just switch to native materials.  That is, if you don't want to take up "learning Chinese" as a hobby.  Good luck.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1