Chinese-Forums

I need ideas for an after school Chinese club

EricJMa

Hello, I’m an elementary school teacher in the US. Since I’m the only teacher that can speak Chinese (HSK 4 level) at my school, I was assigned an after school Chinese Club for 30 students grades 3-6.  

The club is just 1 hour long and only meets once a week. So it will only be a fun introduction class for them. I am looking for ideas such as crafts, songs and especially lessons I can teach once a week as an after school enrichment class.

Thanks for all your help.

What sort of materials do you have access to ie. paper and pens only or computers, tablets. Do you have a source for text books,  libraries or such?

From memory grade 3-6 is about 8 years to 11, 12 years approx?

The reason I ask is because there is so much out there these days that its good to know what type of thing you have access to. For example there are some very good apps for children (free). Alternatively there are some text books aimed at children that are good too.

If you do a search for things like "songs for children age ..... to learn chinese" you will find a lot of things.

I will go and have a look at some things I have and come back later with some names of books and things.

I think kids that age would enjoy some traditional Chinese games of chance. Nothing like gambling to teach them the practical importance of mathematics. Of course you can use something like M&Ms -- or more appropriately 麦丽素 -- in place of cash.

Fan-Tan, the buttons under the bowl game, might make the best introduction. Rules are simple, and the game is easy to set up and run.

It's also a good way to teach them that, over the not too long run, the house always wins.

It's not really clear, but from your post it sounds like these kids aren't actually in a formal Chinese class, right?

If so, that really limits the songs that we could seriously recommend.