Chinese-Forums

ABC Cantonese speaker starting out with Mandarin class?

Pandekage

• New Members

Hi all, first post on here!

Anyway, my background: I'm an ABC, and while I do speak Cantonese (thanks to my parents) my idiot 8 year old self gave up on formal training and as a result cannot comprehend formal speech (i.e. news or business) and cannot read or write at all. I'm now a 25 year old grad student, and am looking at taking my uni's introductory Mandarin course (no Cantonese). Would my oral Cantonese be of an advantage here, or are the two systems too different? Any suggestions on how I could take advantage of this Mandarin course to also concurrently develop my Cantonese? Would appreciate if anyone who've been in my shoes could give their voice :)  

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, Pandekage said:

Would my oral Cantonese be of an advantage here, or are the two systems too different?

I haven't been in your shoes, but I have had classmates who were. Your Cantonese will be of some advantage, but you'll possibly not really notice it because you'll still have to study hard.

Cantonese is different from Mandarin, more so than Spanish from Italian. Cantonese and Mandarin are clearly related and are the same in all kinds of aspects, but they're different enough that they are mutually unintelligble (as you might already have noticed). Even if they use the same word for things, the pronunciation is often totally different. Grammar is similar, but not the same. Both are tonal languages, but they don't have exactly the same tones.

So like your classmates who don't speak any Chinese language, you'll have to drill tones and pronunciation, learn vocabulary, practice grammar, and write characters.