Chinese-Forums

Sidebar on topic pages

roddy

What do people think? Bearing in mind the content can be changed, if you can think of anything that'd be more useful there. At the moment it just mirrors the right side of the home page. 

I realise it might look odd with very short, or very long topics. I think that's kind of unavoidable. I like the idea of people who've dropped in from a Google search or a new post notification seeing a list of what else is active. 

I don't think a sidebar is needed and I would rather see it gone, but I'm not sure if this is not just my 'never change anything I'm not good with change' side speaking.

I also just noticed a 'reply to this topic' button on top of the thread. I think it would be better to remove that, because it encourages (or at least enables) people to reply without reading the thread, which is usually not good.

I can see roddy's point, if you land at a topic from a search it does give you the idea there might be more, on the other hand it does look crowded but, can we not have a compromise?

A pop out sidebar when you move off the topic contents, remain over it and it stays there, click on it and it "sticks" it to the side for those who like it.

Although that would be good, I think I could get used to it being there.

I don't like it because it takes space from the topic making me scroll more.

It's good that the sidebar disappears in a smaller window. Unfortunately it kicks in at my desired window size, which is the size where the page header expands and shows the tabs and the profile picture.

What's more, I usually use the main page to scan for new topics and posts, making the sidebar fully redundant (unless someone has an idea for other content).

However, roddy's general idea is not a bad one. I propose a user setting for being able to turn the sidebar off after registering. By default it would be on, or at least for unregistered viewers, to get your desired effect.

WAIT,RODDY.