Chinese-Forums

Can I et a X Visa as an exchange student if I have Hepatitis B?

Ashli

Hello everyone ,
since I was born I am a Hepatitis B carrier. It is still non-reactive, so my liver function is pretty normal and there are no other problems. I am studying Chinese language and culture and soon I have to apply for a student exchange program. I have to stay at least 6 month till a year. I did some research and I know there is a lot discrimination about hep. b carrier in china.  So will the University reject my admission after they see the results of my medical examination? Or will I even get a VISA to enter China as a Student? Hope someone knows something about this, it will help me a lot.

While there is no health check involved in Long Term student X visa applications you will be asked about your health on your visa application form. 

You might be tempted to not fill it in the application but I wouldn't recommend it if you are looking to stay out of trouble 

I would recommend calling your local consulate and ask them although it can be hit and miss

There's a medical for converting X1 visa to residence permits. X1 visa are for stays of over 180 days. If you're staying less than 180 days you'll get an X2 visa, which doesn't need converted to a residence permit and so no need for a medical. 

I'm not sure what would happen in this situation - it may depend very much on where you are and what the local authorities / university thinks. 

Thank you . Yes I know that you don't need a medical check for a X2 Visa. I just read that china actually had lift the ban for hepatitis b carrier and that the universities are not allowed to reject you because of this but they still do it . I was thinking about exchange in Shanghai of Hong Kong . I thought about calling the chinese consulate but I don't really think they will tell truth . 

On 9/28/2017 at 7:14 AM, Ashli said: