Chinese-Forums

When to use shi 是?

IanK

Hello,

I'm new at learning Chinese and have a question about when shì is used. From what I understand: 她是大学生 is correct... She IS a college student. But then you don't use shi when you say 她是高...She IS tall, you just say 她高。

Can someone help understand when I should use shi and when I don't.

谢谢

Ian

• Good question! 1

是 is used to connect two nouns or pronouns. In your first example it is connecting the pronoun "She" and the noun "university student".

It can't be used in the second because 是 is not used to connect nouns or pronouns to adjectives - "tall" is an adjective.

In your first sentence 她是大学生, 是 is similar to the English linking verb 'to be'. But similar doesn't mean the same.

In English, a linking verb joins the subject of a sentence to its complement. The complement can be a noun, "She is a student"; an adjective, "She is tall"; or a prepositional phrase, "She is at home".

In other words,

Sentence = Subject + Predicate

Predicate = Linking Verb + Complemnt

But in Chinese and some Asian languages, an adjective can predicate a sentence by itself. They are not the same adjectives as you know in European languages. They are stative verbs. (It's more apparent in Japanese, where the so-called adjectives conjugate like a verb, that is, according to tense, mood, etc.)

So technically, 高 doesn't mean 'tall', it means 'to be tall'.

她 (Subject 'She') + 高 (Predicate 'is tall') is a complete sentence. No room for an extra 是.

This is also why 的 is used to link an adjective to the noun it modifies the same way it turns a verbal phrase into a relative clause.

漂亮的她 ✔ 'she, who is beautiful'

漂亮她 ✘

我买的书 ✔ 'the book that I bought'

我买书 ✘ (a sentence, not a noun phrase)

Because 漂亮 is a stative verb. There is no true 'adjective' in Chinese.

Also 她 is a noun. There is no true 'pronoun' in Chinese.

They are just called adjectives and pronouns for convenience sake. They behave differently from their European counterparts.