Chinese-Forums

Considering Studying in China: Some Advice Wanted.

RichS

Hi everyone. So heres my current situation.

I've been teaching English in China for 3 years now, while I've been here I've studied really hard and passed the HSK6 not too long ago. I just turned 31, and I kinda began thinking what is my life goal right now? Well it certainly isn't keeping on slogging in this job I don't like. One life goal is to perfect my Chinese, another is to live in a comfortable fun city with a bit of character,  where the pollution isn't so bad. I've been in Tianjin 3 years, I feel very fond of it, but there ain't much to do and the smog gets pretty bad.

I've always liked the South of China, so I began thinking, why not find a beautiful city and just chill out and study for 2, 3 years. Teaching English will always be here for me, but in a few years I'll be too old to do the university thing, and China seems to provide pretty generous scholarships. I've kind of cottoned on to the idea of going to Xiamen, I've heard it's not too polluted, beautiful beaches, and a wonderful campus.

As for my major my first love is History, so I was thinking maybe studying History IN CHINESE would be a good way to kill two birds with one stone, Xiamen offers world history and Chinese history courses. On the other hand, maybe a masters with a more Chinese flavour would be in order, plus I'm a teacher so if I did a Chinese teaching degree that would be another way to kill two birds with one stone. So I thought Teaching Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages,Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language as a masters would also be a good choice.

Does anyone have any experience of these specific masters, Chinese education in general or Xiamen in particular who could give me some advice?

Many thanks.

• Good question! 1

On 02/11/2017 at 9:48 AM, RichS said:

So I thought Teaching Chinese to Speakers of Other Languages,Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language as a masters would also be a good choice.