Chinese-Forums

Adventure text games for Chinese learners

Olle Linge

Summary: We’ve created a few adventure text games for Chinese learners. We believe the concept is sound and learners seem to enjoy the games. However, we struggle to make the games more accessible, especially in terms of language difficulty. We're hoping the community here might have some ideas for how to make the games accessible to more students.

Background

When I started learning Chinese, I had a hard time finding content that was both interesting and presented in an engaging way, especially at a beginner and intermediate level. I’ve been thinking about a solution to this problem ever since and I believe that engaging text games is one possibility.

I’ve always loved table-top role-playing, and it struck me that text games like the choose-your-own-adventure games that were popular when I was a kid would work really well for language learning. If you’re not familiar with such games, it’s basically an interactive novel, where you make choices, roll dice and so on, then proceed to different parts of the book depending on the result. Thus, it’s not a linear narrative and there are many ways of winning (and losing, of course).

Text games for language learning

This kind of game is perfect for learning Chinese. With a good story and clever choices, the student has to read and understand the text. If the difficulty of the text is also kept within reasonable limits, it’s like a graded reader where the student can influence the story and how it ends. If done well, every choice is basically a reading comprehension question that feels more like playing. You also get a lot of repetition built-in because you need to play several times to figure out how to win or to explore different possible story developments.