Chinese-Forums

Which edition/textbook to buy?

xavkno

I finally have time to study Chinese.

From what I've read many recommend NPCR but now I am doubting which Edition to get the 2nd or the 3rd the 2nd edition has all the volumes available where the 3rd one only has the first volume available.

so does anyone have any experience with both?

And is NPCR even suitable for complete beginners?

Thank you in advance.

I have already tried the hello Chinese app but I can't seem to concentrate when using it.

I use the 2nd edition for the very reasons you give, they are are available and are also well supported with audio and video.

I do think they are well suited for a complete beginner. It sounds obvious but if you start at the beginning and work your way diligently through the text book, work book, listen to the audio and watch the videos,  it leads you through things in a sensible (I think) order. NPCR introduces characters early enough to be useful and if you practice well you should have a good grasp of grammar, tones, writing and reading.

The only thing you may have to add is some form of speaking practice, you could get a tutor for this or an online language partner. There are audio exercises with the NPCR mp3s but I think the more you speak/listen the better.

One of my blogs is a review/guide to how I use NPCR. (Link is in my signature)

Personally I would highly recommend NPCR.

Its interesting that you find HelloChinese difficult to use, I would also suggest using this app as it has a good speaking section that makes you speak and corrects your mistakes.

What do you find distracting?

It's not really the app per se but I have always preferred books to digital solutions when learning guess it's a handicap of mine though if it is good for speaking practice I could try to use it for that and use it in conjunction with NPCR I may give it a go again.