Chinese-Forums

Use of 这样 and 很多

sunwukong88

Hello there everybody :)!!

I am currently studying HSK4 vocabulary and I was looking at this website to understand how to use new items in context: http://www.learnmandarinchinese.com/

More precisely I was looking at the following expression: 合格 (Weilin dictionary:  hégé s.v./v.o. qualify; reach standard; pass | Chǎnpǐn ∼. The product is up to standard.)

The example I was looking at can be found at the following link: 

http://www.learnmandarinchinese.com/phrases/basic-3806/

image.thumb.png.ad94e0fb5d775d1da7c2c30a9deb3a1e.png

Beside the incorrect English translation, the Chinese seems to be off as well. I would personally say:

(虽然)·这样包的价格很低,但是很多的这样包的质量不合格。Although the price of this kind of bags is low (this kind of bags are cheap), the quality of many of them is not up to standard.

Of course I could be wrong since I am not an expert in Chinese, therefore please let me know if I have made a mistake. 

样 should not have 的 since in this case behaves as a classifier and is translated as 'kind'. 

Moreover, I am not convinced about the sentence '很多质量'. Maybe I have misunderstood the whole thing but I guess that the sentence means that the quality 质量 of many 很多 of those bags is not up to standard. I thought you would actually need a noun whom 很多 can refer to, as in: 很多包/很多的这样包; unless here 很多 behaves as a pronoun and therefore there is no need to repeat the main topic. I hope you can help me clear all these doubts!!

Thanks in advance!

• Good question! 1