Chinese-Forums

How To Find A Temporary Job During New Year's Break?

Pianote

I am an American English teacher working in southern China. I am new to here  and not sure how's  things work  with the breaks. 

I will be out of work without pay between early January and late February. I would like to make some money during that time. 

I am also open to leaving the country during this time if it means me being able to work.

What should I do?

Pianote. Don’t be like that. It’s a reasonable question. 

You can likely:

- Find some tutoring jobs through an agency.

- Find a winter English camp. 

- Reach out to a local ESL school and see if they need anyone to cover or are short of staff. Schools like this usually are. 

Not sure how easy it will be to find these things but you can try.

Worth noting if you’re in China youre on a work visa, it is tied to your current employer. Any work you do not for them won’t be legal 

• Thanks 1
  • Helpful 1

Word to the wise, people all around here are getting busted for part-time teaching outside their legitimate employer.  3 people I know of, including jobs way out in the countryside.  I don't know if it's a local thing or what.  5000 yuan fine for you, 10,000 for the school.  

18 hours ago, Pianote said:

I am also open to leaving the country during this time if it means me being able to work.

Where are you prepared to go to? If it's back to the states then you could try some part time work in your own country without all the hassle, but I doubt this would make financial sense.

Anywhere else you go will also require the correct visas for you to work.

Is there any work you could do with your existing employer?

I don't think any of us is going to tell you what you should do.

We have given you options, information and warnings relating to visas but it is up to you to decide what you should do.