Chinese-Forums

African English teachers in China

Chikko

i recently graduated my B.Ed and also a holder of TESOL certificate,I am African nationality ,what are my chances of getting teaching English job in China.I am so looking forward to start my career as a teacher ,i have no experience of teaching before, I always hear that they need only white people from USA,UK Canada,Newzealand and australia.Are there any africans here to help me

Dear Chikko,

You should know by now that China has investments in Africa.  There is a growing Chinese community all over Africa.  I  would like you to check your country for any big company there and make some contacts.  Also don't feel inferior because you are non-white.  You are just as good as any other person with your qualifications.  The question now remains as to your level of Mandarin.  

Also you should be aware that TESOL has global affiliates like

VIPKID Logo-600X200

You should also check your contacts at TESOL for any positions in China.  

Don't be afraid of writing to the Universities in China.  Again what is your level of Mandarin? 

• Like 1

Actually, the visa requirements for teaching English in China mean you need to be from a native speaking country. This is regardless of race. The requirement is really just about your passport. 

You could find work in China teaching English but it’s very likely you’d not be working on the right visa (a work visa). It’s likely it wouldn’t feel like a very stable kind of work situation. 

I dont really know what gwr71 is talking about. It doesn’t matter about contacts etc if you want to legally work in China. Also, your mandarin skills aren’t really a factor when it comes to teaching English. Anyone that hires English teachers speaks English to some degree and when you’re teaching it they absolutely don’t want you to speak Chinese. 

• Like 1
  • Helpful 3

On 10/12/2017 at 12:36 AM, ChTTay said: