Chinese-Forums

Trouble with confidence in pronunciation only when reading

Yadang

I know there are many threads about learning pronunciation and tones - most of these are by people starting out and having trouble with tones in general. My problem seems different, because it's specific to reading, and I'm not a beginner (but neither am I good! :wink:). I don't usually have (too much) trouble pronouncing or remembering tones, as pronunciation was something I spent a lot of time on from the very beginning. What I'm having a problem with is only those words which I'm specifically learning through reading. I'll give some background on what's worked for me in the past and what's not working - maybe it will help...

In the past I've taken movies, used subs2SRS to convert them to bite-sized chunks, and used Chinese Text Analyzer to identify unknown words and give definitions/pronunciation for these words. I've then used anki both to either memorize the sentences and chorus them (while recording myself, and then comparing, re-recording, etc.), or just clozing out the words I don't know (but still reading and listening to the whole sentence when the card is revealed). The first method worked wonders, but took a lot of time per sentence. The second method worked pretty well, and took much less time per card.