Chinese-Forums

What now? (+ my learning Chinese journey)

RogerGe

When studying Chinese I've always been very systematic and force myself to do a set amount of things in a day. I bought HSK books, did 2 chapters a day, added the words to Anki, and eventually passed HSK 6. Then I studied the Old HSK lists (with a vocabulary textbook), adding a set number of words a day, and then the TOCFL lists after that. Next I did a Newspaper reading course textbook, as well as adding a set number of words a day from an Extra Old HSK list which had a bunch of rarer characters in words (from page 451 in http://idl.hbdlib.cn/book/00000000000000/pdfbook2/bj/01/cc/dy0001cc94.pdf).

At this point I was at a crossroads,  and was about to do the 500 or so rare 成语 list at the end as well I decided against, because my listening ability was getting further and further away from my reading ability, so I decided to do all the Advanced and Media lessons for ChinesePod, doing a set number a day (during this time I also bought a speed-reading course, doing a set number of lessons a day). I decided against doing TV shows for vocab because I could listen to ChinesePod lessons all day while I was doing other stuff. I also decided against just learning words by a frequency list because it's boring and I wouldn't get to reinforce the new words through audio (I have a lot of words where I know them when reading, but not when listening). I also decided against getting vocab from books because it wasn't systematic, and because it wasn't as good audio practice as ChinesePod (with the audiobook version).