Chinese-Forums

English Contract

MUSA90

I'm a new teacher and I've started teaching at a school in China. I'm not particularly happy with the area, the staff or the hours. I want to break my contract, but I'm afraid I won't be able to stay in China since my school sponsored me to be here. I would like to continue teaching, but in an area I enjoy. Also, if possible, less stressful and fewer hours working because I have yet to explore anything because of the workload. I am here to teach, but if that's all I'm doing then I could have stayed in my home country. I want to break the contract, but  I'm concerned about the fees I'll have to pay back. It states in the contract that I will be provided receipts of the expenses the school spent. I know I'll have to pay back the residence permit application, health check, and loan for the apartment. However, I'm concerned about the miscellaneous expenses. For instance, the hotel, taxis, salary and anything else required since my arrival. I'm also worried about the lease I signed for my apartment. It's for 6 months, so if I break it, would I have to pay 6 months worth of rent?  I already paid 3 months worth of rent and a deposit, so will I have to pay the remaining 3 months?

Any advice would be appreciated.  

I can’t say for certain on the apartment rental, because I suspect this depends heavily on how your landlord feels.

But as for miscellaneous expenses, I suspect they will compile any receipts they have kept. This is pretty typical. I don’t think they can make you pay back your salary, but essentially they will expense everything they spent on you back to you.