Chinese-Forums

Just another datapoint for: tones / how-to-start

realmayo

Came across this:

I studied Vietnamese from "zero to hero" in 46 weeks of full-time study at the Australian Government language school. ... The tones are so important that during my course, we Vietnamese students (and our colleagues learning Thai and Chinese) spent the first 6 weeks in the language labs. We could barely speak a word of our new language - just babble out isolated sounds! However, this method reached so far down into our 'soul' that the tone system becomes an integral part of you. Just like your first language, it is impossible to forget!

https://www.proz.com/forum/teaching_and_learning_languages/92644-vietnamese_and_chinese_how_close_are_they_really.html?float=true

I wish that's how I'd started Chinese.....

7 hours ago, stapler said:

That's the fact that intense drilling is perhaps not only beneficial but almost necessarily to make substantive progress learning a language.

I also came to a similar conclusion in my studies and have been saying the same thing for years.

The laziness thing is also important to be aware of, especially if you are relying predominantly on SRS because often the standard people hold themselves to for 'knowing' a word in a revision is not the standard required for using that word in real life.  The example I often provide is for reading.  To read well you need instant recognition for more or less every word.  If you are not treating anything less than instant recognition as a fail, then you don't 'know' the words well enough to be used for reading, leading to many 'known' words not actually being known well enough to use.

7 hours ago, stapler said:

The one unexpected benefit I have found from this exercise is that the words and structures become deeply ingrained,