Chinese-Forums

A comprehensible explanation how to learn 了?

zhouhaochen

So when I studied Mandarin back then at BLCU our grammar teacher went through the rules of how to use 了 in our grammar book and nobody in the class could understand them. In the end his advice was "Just say it like Chinese people do" which is what we ended up trying and works, but I do not think is the most efficient way to understand how 了 is used.

The rules are complex, but the main difficulty I find is that every explanation that I can find uses words that students simply do not know.

I am currently trying to create an infographic for the grammar rules for 了 and am struggling to put the explanations into words that normal people understand. I want to avoid using terms like "Determined Object Compliment", "Adverbial Adjunct" etc.

Does anyone know a resource or has a way to explain 了 in words that someone who is not familiar with specialized Chinese grammatical words can also understand?

As it is a very complex topic, currently I am planning to split it over two infographics, Aspectual 了 and Modal 了 (any suggestions on how to use words that are easier to comprehend instead of aspectual and modal are very welcome). Any feedback or advice on this split is also welcome. The infographics should look similar in design as the HSK and how to learn Tones infographics (scroll down to the bottom of the pages to see them).

• Like 1

Aren't you a Chinese language school? Surely a teacher there has experience teaching '了‘ to people. 

Nonetheless, I do agree that a lot of the grammar books speak in pretty complex terms. It'd be nice to have a simpler explanation. I'm looking forward to a nice infographic, and in the mean time if I can find any resources to help I'll post a reply!

I work at a Chinese language school, but I am not a school myself :P