Chinese-Forums

FWP (Foreigner's Work Permit) Overview

MangoESL

FAQ

1. I don't meet the new requirements, will I be grandfathered in?
    Unfortunately not, if you don't meet the new requirements you'll likely not be able to get a FWP. If in education this is certain. In other fields there may be exceptions for investors and such. If an employer says otherwise, be wary!
  2. I'm a student in China and have just graduated, I heard I can work without meeting the other requirements.
    There are some new rules related to this, I don't have all the details yet, but if you've just graduated in China certainly look into it and share with us what you find out.
  3. My passport is expiring...
    You can get a FWP and visa which will expire one month earlier than your passport expires. In some cities (Beijing) you need to apply for a new visa within 10 days of getting your replacement passport according to the date of issue on the passport (I'm still confused about receiving it more than 10 days after that date). In other cities you only need apply for a new visa before your current visa expires, carrying both.
  4. I'm married to a Chinese person, how does this help me?
    You don't need to leave the country to get a FWP when applying under any visa.
  5. Can i change from a tourist visa to a working residence permit?
    No, unless you're in Shanghai and possibly Hainan, still be wary! Don't come to China without your Z-Visa.
  6. I'm being told I need to leave the country to change professions!?!?
    As of early 2018 this is true! You'll need to leave the country and apply for a new FWP if you're changing professions. This may not apply in Shanghai or Hainan, check locally first always!
  7. Is there a blacklist?