Chinese-Forums

Problems with family overnight stays

LaoDing

My daughter is a university student, majoring in Chinese culture. I'm a public uni teacher, living in a one-bedroom apartment owned by my school. I have a Z working visa, my daughter has an X student visa. My daughter wants to live here half the time and in her dorm half the time, but my FAO is freaked out about it. Is it because of police registration rules regarding overnight stays?

Ask him, but that'll be part of it. It's a situation which doesn't fit into how things work currently (so where's her permanent address?) and the FAO could bear the brunt if the PSB decide they don't like it (say it turns out your daughter hasn't been going to classes as she's been working illegally). I'd sit down and explain why you want to do this, show your daughter's paperwork, and ask if it's possible and if not, how can you make it possible.

Also, and forgive me - does the FAO know you actually have a daughter? If you're a man in your 40s and you've casually mentioned to the FAO your 18 year old daughter will be staying over a lot in your one-bedroom apartment, some incorrect assumptions may have been made.

• Like 2

1 hour ago, roddy said:

If you're a man in your 40s and you've casually mentioned to the FAO your 18 year old daughter will be staying over a lot in your one-bedroom apartment, some incorrect assumptions may have been made

This is what came to mind immediately i read your post.. Would things be different if you had a 2 bedroom apartment?

13 hours ago, roddy said:

Also, and forgive me - does the FAO know you actually have a daughter? If you're a man in your 40s and you've casually mentioned to the FAO your 18 year old daughter will be staying over a lot in your one-bedroom apartment, some incorrect assumptions may have been made.