Chinese-Forums

Teaching opportunities for native-speaker with no degree?

KatrinavS

• New Members

Hi,

I'm hoping someone could offer some advice on teaching in China without a degree. I studied for 3 years at university but due to some personal circumstances I was unable to finish my studies and obtain my degree. I've always wanted to travel to China and Japan, and teaching English in China presented the perfect opportunity for me to do that. However, I found that there aren't as many positions available for applicants without a degree and I've been warned about scams and agencies too many times to apply for the positions that offer excellent pay despite not requiring a degree.

I've recently finished my 120 hour TEFL course as well as a 60 hour Business English course and I am a native speaker from South Africa. I have no previous experience in teaching apart from tutoring friends on occasion.

Are there any legitimate websites or schools anyone could recommend for someone with my level of certification and experience. 

Hello @KatrinavS

I would advise you to look on the government visa sections of the countries you are interested in and check if there are any work related visas you would be eligible for. If a temporary or long term work visa doesn't exist which you are eligible for then you then it will answer your question.

I have done this research related to my situation in the past and it shows you what is possible. Although going a step further and getting a job is another thing all together.

http://www.za.emb-japan.go.jp/itpr_en/certificate_of_eligibility.html

http://www.chinese-embassy.org.za/eng/lqfw/guidelines/visa/t1072402.htm

There are other countries in south East Asia you can try as well, as it seems China may be a no-go without a degree for paid work. You could try looking around http://www.tefl.com/

Thanks,

Aaron

• Thanks 1