Chinese-Forums

Foreigners at hotels in Shanghai

Tomsima

Hi chinese-forums, have a question, hope it isn't too controversial, definitely not trying to cause debate, just wanted some answers is all.

So I got into Shanghai and went to my hotel booked on Meituan. When we got there I was told I was a “外賓” (whereas my wife is a “內賓” and that's no problem) and so was not allowed to stay at their hotel, they said that had yet to obtain the certificate to allow foreigners at their hotel. OK. So we called ahead, and not a single hotel on Meituan would let me stay there. In Shanghai. There's literally foreigners every, what's going on? The four seasons hotel way out of my price range, so can't stay there, but clearly has loads of 外賓 (I was there for an interview this morning so saw firsthand). I've been in China for years and been to all sorts of cities and never come across this before. This is my first time to Shanghai and after getting lucky with a lax hotel manager I'm finally sitting in my hotel room typing this, wondering if this has always been the case in this city?

Those familiar with Shanghai or have even just stayed here once, would love to hear your experiences.

I don't stay in high end hotels, and was in Beijing last month, stayed at two different hotels and didn't come across this. Ive travelled fairly extensively around hubei, Yunnan and guangxi, was in Jiangxi only last week without any problems, not come across this before. Perhaps because they are poorer areas?

I'm definitely starting to feel the door closing I'm sad to say...

All I can say is that my experience, having travelled as well throughout much of the country over many many years, is completely the opposite. 

Getting turned away from hotels has been a constant for decades. It's simply become more constant in recent years. Though conversely a bit easier to avoid by careful use of the booking sites (e.g., check for recent English reviews).