Chinese-Forums

Translation or Language program in one year, any advice ?

mhuygen

• New Members

This is Manuel from France. I am a part-time librarian / part-time translator (from english to french language & I hope in a few years from chinese to french)

in France, and I am considering asking for a Confucius scholarship to go and study chinese in a chinese university next year.

I passed HSK4 with 246/300 last year, and I just tried HSK5 a few days ago, confirming I was still far from the goal....

So this is my question : I'd like to enhance my level in order to begin to translate chinese to french. I'm kind of confused with all the programs 

According to your experience, your knowledge, what you heard of, in my case which are the most suitable universities and degrees I should apply for ?

I must specify that one year would be the maximum duration for me in China, since we are raising a young kid in France with my wife. 

5 hours ago, mhuygen said:

I'd like to enhance my level in order to begin to translate chinese to french.

It's good to hear of your commitment to this goal. In order to achieve it, though, is it absolutely necessary for you to spend a year at a university in China?

If the translation you intend to do is exclusively written stuff, I'd say your time and money could be better spent staying in France and engaging in the concerted study of texts, mainly of the kind you aspire to be a translator of ultimately.

• Like 1

5 hours ago, mhuygen said:

This is Manuel from France. I am a part-time librarian / part-time translator (from english to french language & I hope in a few years from chinese to french)

in France, and I am considering asking for a Confucius scholarship to go and study chinese in a chinese university next year.

I passed HSK4 with 246/300 last year, and I just tried HSK5 a few days ago, confirming I was still far from the goal....