Chinese-Forums

How to use Facebook, Twitter in China?

oneseven

Hello and welcome to the forum.

You don't say where you are now, I am guessing not in China?

I am no expert but I know it can be done.

I will leave the fine details to someone more knowledgable.

There is something new from Google/Alphabet. I have not tried it yet, but it looks interesting. 

It is called Outline. 

https://techcrunch.com/2018/03/22/alphabets-outline-lets-you-build-your-own-vpn/

But it’s also awful because anybody who has access to your VPN server can see your internet traffic. That’s why you should never rely on a VPN company, even if they promise that they respect your privacy. They’ll analyze your browsing habits, sell them to advertisers, inject their own ads on non-secure pages or steal your identity. And you can’t know for sure if you can trust them.

Traditional VPN protocols can also be blocked because they use specific ports and they look like VPN traffic if authorities and ISPs use deep packet inspection. That’s why countries can block VPNs altogether.

And yet, a socks5 proxy looks like normal internet traffic. Shadowsocks is taking advantage of that and combining the advantage of a proxy with traffic encryption. It’s supposed to work great in China for instance.

It's supposed to work great. Does it work?

Davy’s advice is sound. 

Just buy a VPN before you come. 

The questions regarding privacy when using a VPN should be something you’re aware of but most of the debate surrounding this issue is if you’re using a VPN somewhere like Europe or the USA and want to keep your data private. Unless you’re tech savvy and want to try set something up to use in China, it’s a lot more straight forward to just buy one. 

If you’re like most people here and just want to be to be able to search using google, access Facebook and watch YouTube videos, then just buying a commercial one is enough.

• Like 1

• New Members