Chinese-Forums

Home air quality monitoring and purification

ChTTay

Hi there,

I was wondering if anyone owned the Xiaomi Air monitor (here)? If so, how have you found it?

I read this review of Xiaomi's air purifiers and they're saying that the monitor inbuilt into the xiaomi purifiers is essentially useless. If that's the case, won't their stand alone device use the same tech? 

I'm debating buying the xiaomi model or the laser egg. The xiaomi is cheaper and I already have a fair amount of xiaomi stuff in my house so it would mean using the same app/ecosystem. 

I did read somewhere that the stand alone monitor uses “laser” tech (the same as the “laser” egg I assume).

Be good to find someone who actually has the Xiaomi one 

Thanks!

• Good question! 3

I have no experience with indoor monitors, but I did spec some outdoor ones a while back, and came to the conclusion that most of the cheap ones are not accurate.  It's not only the type of sensor, but how the airflow across it is managed (the decent ones have fans etc).  

So the best I can offer is: if it's cheap it's probably not very good.

Yeah, I have the model 2.  It has an "auto" setting that is supposed to keep the air clean, but the sensor is worthless.  I have a separate handheld PM25 meter, and it reports a different number from the Xiaomi.  It works well enough to blow air through the filter, after a while it will indeed reduce the PM25 to single digits, but the auto mode is worthless.  I tried to clean the sensor with a Q-tip and alcohol, and that just made it worse.  

I've bought a lot of Xiaomi junk over the years, and I've come to the conclusion that you should only buy phones and earbuds from them.  The rest of their product line varies wildly in quality and breaks about half the time.  Xiaomi looks on warranty replacements like the customer is trying to cheat them.  

• Like 1