Chinese-Forums

Non-teaching job as foreigner with intermediate Mandarin

Lin368

• New Members

Hello everyone! I have a postgraduate degree in business and information systems (The courses are focused on IT consulting aspects and some basic programming skills) and I wonder if there is any chance for foreigner to find a non-teaching job in Shanghai or Hangzhou. My native tongue is Italian and I think I can pass at most HSK4. I have no working experience related to my degree and I can't really afford to spend a year or more to get to HSK6. Before completing my degree I worked as part-time sales assistant.

What are the career paths in China you think I can purse? There were internships provided by some companies such as Intern in Asia, or advertised on the European Chamber of Commerce, but I am afraid that they will turn out to be not too stimulating and the wage will be really low.

No reason why you can't. There are a huge number of foreigners in China with zero chinese  who don't work as a language teacher. Most western people I know don't work as a language teacher in China (me and my brother included).

I think in reality it will be harder than working in Europe due to difficulties in visas but not impossible. Also no matter what the career is, focusing on a high wage at the start of your career is short sighted. It's the work experience, company you work for and business connections that will pave the way for better jobs and higher salary later on in your career 

5 hours ago, Lin368 said:

What are the career paths in China you think I can purse? There were internships provided by some companies such as Intern in Asia, or advertised on the European Chamber of Commerce, but I am afraid that they will turn out to be not too stimulating and the wage will be really low.