Chinese-Forums

Learning 五笔

jco

There are a number of older threads on this, so I am asking this to see if there are any updates etc (and I have some more specific questions). Regardless, I want to be able to type deterministically and I also like the idea of typing reinforcing my writing, so 五笔 it is.

I'm on a Mac.

- is there a manual with all the rules on how the system works? In Chinese is fine

- what are the best apps or websites to practice?

- what's the best ime for Mac?

- is it possible to get the keystrokes data? I'm a programmer and have some ideas for some apps to helps learning.

- for series of characters, I know there are faster ways to write them. Is it possible to know this with just the character data above? Is that algorithm described somewhere? I'm imagining taking all the characters I know how to write (based on Anki progress) and then prompting myself with series of them. Ideally the Backend would know the most efficient way to type them and could detect if the user does it in a more roundabout way. 

I welcome any other resources, apps, advice, etc

The yale site is dead but I did finally find a PDF of the explanation that lived there: http://www.indonesia-kita.com/bahan/Wubizixing for Speakers of English.pdf

Edit: and it looks like it's hosted online here: http://chinesemac.org/wubi/xing.html

I feel like the hardest and most key ask above is the database of characters that lives behind the IME, especially the special forms (2 stroke words, 2 characters with abbreviated forms, etc). Ideally the data would be in the form of the sub-pieces, and then the key strokes would be based on that. I know this data has to exist, but I have no idea where, and a bit of googling got me know where.

At worse, one could try and brute force an IME. 25^4=390625, so it wouldn't be too hard to see what the IME output for every possible 4 stroke key combination. That's extremely lame though!