Chinese-Forums

Master's Degree in Translation

chinesekitten

Hi everybody!

I've recently completed my bachelor studies in sinology. Now I really love the language and want to continue using it in my daily life. However, I don't really know what to do and how to cuntinue study- or work-wise. I'm currently thinking of trying translation, but I'm just afraid it would be to hard on me. I've been studying Chinese for over three years and of course it's not anywhere near perfect. However, I came across some master degree studies that offer translation (English - Chinese) especially for "international students", so I thought that might be worth a try.

Does anybody have any experiences with that or can give me any tipps? I'd be very grateful :)

Thanks in advance!

Translation is generally done with the native language as the target language, so for me, that would be Chinese -> English.  Is English your native language? Translators with more than one target language are usually at an advantage.

Where are you considering doing the course?  There are many threads on the forums about translation degrees which you can find using the search function.

From what I remember, translation degrees in China can be pretty hard on international students, even those with very good Chinese skills.

There are a few translators here who would be able to give you a flavour of what it is like, but I would recommend you at least try to get an understanding of what it would be like yourself - especially as you seem to be interested in translation for a means of maintaining your language skills rather than for any actual interest in translation.  For example, I tried translating a few things to see if I would enjoy it, and didn't enjoy it at all.  Have you considered a further degree in Sinology?

• Like 1
  • Helpful 3

This thread might be somewhat helpful: 

https://www.chinese-forums.com/forums/topic/38677-to-be-or-not-to-be-a-chinese-translator/