Chinese-Forums

Teaching English without a degree.

woliveri

I'm wondering about teaching English in China. I'm interested in teaching conversational English. I do not have a degree but do have over 80 hours of college work and a good foundation with Chinese plus I currently work as a computer programmer.

Just wondering how difficult it would be for someone without a degree to teach English in China.

Thanks to anyone with any feedback.

It is possible to teach without a degree - I have met quite a few people who have. Although I can't make recommendations on how to find work without a degree. Why don't you do a CELTA course in your home country first, and then at least you will have a qualification in teaching English? You don't actually have to have CELTA either, but I think it would be easier to find work with it if you didn't have a degree. Chinese people don't really realise that having a degree doesn't really point to a good command of English - at least not in England, where the newspapers are full of discussion about how new graduates can't write letters to prospective employers without ludicrous mistakes. But I suppose they have to make some assumptions.

I'm wondering about teaching English in China. I'm interested in teaching conversational English. I do not have a degree but do have over 80 hours of college work and a good foundation with Chinese plus I currently work as a computer programmer.

Just wondering how difficult it would be for someone without a degree to teach English in China.

Thanks to anyone with any feedback.

:mrgreen:

i thought if you have not got the degree yet , you have to go and find some

childcare centers . beacuse , as a good foreign teacher in china is not easy

anymore........

• 4 weeks later...