Chinese-Forums

British English

NinjaTurtle

Are there any Brits here on this forum? I am American and I am not good at British English at all. The problem is this: more than once I have told a Chinese student (in China) that what they wrote on their paper was "Chinglish" and wrong, only to find out later that it was just an example of British English that I had not heard before. (How embarrassing!)

Can anyone tell me if some examples of what I have heard are British English?

Ok. First one. "I recommend you to go to Japan." (Very often heard in China. I think it's safe to say Mainland Chinese students have no idea that there is another way to say this in English.) I would say not correct in American English. Correct in British English?

I would consider this ok. I think it is correct grammatically but maybe not used that often.

It sounds correct to my ear if a little stilted.

I am Canadian by birth and lived there till I was 15 and came to the UK. I think it would be understood by most English speakers but maybe not used by younger people.

10 hours ago, NinjaTurtle said:

"I recommend you to go to Japan."

I think that is just plain wrong. 

"I recommend you go to Japan" or "I recommend that you go to Japan" would be proper sentences, in the US or in GB. (At least in my opinion.)

So we have a no vote and a maybe vote. I'm curious what other people will say. Perhaps it is just 'Chinglish'. That is strange, because this is definitely the only form taught in China.

Hey, abcdefg, are you in Texas? I am presently in Midland, Texas.

To my ear (English born and raised) it would more imply you are recommending someone for a posting in Japan than suggesting it was the best destination to choose themselves, though obviously not the correct way of saying that either. So while if heard in a real conversation I wouldn't be too fazed and would get the point if i was teaching I'd tell students it was an incorrect usage.