Chinese-Forums

Where to find a standard pinyin pronounciation?

colcode

Hi,

I'm new to learning Mandarin Chinese, I'm still practicing pinyin and tones, I'm not in a rush to learn Mandarin Chinese as I view it as a fun side project to do when I have free time. So from the beginning I want to master the pronunciation or at least learn common mistakes and try to avoid them as much as possible. 

I've been collecting information on how to pronounce each initial and final and it has been great so far as I know how the sounds she be I only need to keep practicing.

With that being said, I've found some conflicting information on the web, it seems like each pinyin table pronounce some syllables in a different way. For this reason I can't decide for sure how should I pronounce these syllables, here are the examples that I'm talking about.

Before I list the examples of conflicting pronunciation, here are the resources that I'm using, each resources is marked with a number so I can reference it in the examples.

[1] https://www.yoyochinese.com/chinese-learning-tools/Mandarin-Chinese-pronunciation-lesson/pinyin-chart-table

[2] https://resources.allsetlearning.com/chinese/pronunciation/Pinyin_chart

[3] https://chinese.yabla.com/chinese-pinyin-chart.php

[4] https://www.purpleculture.net/chinese-pinyin-chart/

Example 1: Yi

[1] pronounce it as "yee". "y" here is similar to "y" in "yes".

[2] pronounce it as "ee".

[3] pronounce it as "ee".

[4] pronounce it as "ee".

However for "bi", "pi" etc, all of the 4 pronunciation rhyme with "ee" and not "yee".

Example 2: Ye 

[1] pronounce it as "Ye". "y" here is similar to "y" in "yes" and "e" in the pinyin "e" like "uh".

[2] pronounce it as "eeya". "y" here is similar to "y" in "yes".

[3] pronounce it as "Ye".

[4] pronounce it as "eeya".

Example 3:Yin

[1] pronounce it as "Yin", "ye" here is similar to 'y" in "yes"

[2] pronounce it as "ee-n".

[3] pronounce it as "Yin".

[4] pronounce it as "Yin".

Example 4: Wo