Chinese-Forums

How to teach Mandarin pronunciation

mirgcire

I have been teaching Mandarin now for over 6 years.  Many of my students have gone on to surpass my level of skill, which, for a teacher, is more of a success than a failure.  I think I do a great job of encouraging students to persevere and be successful.  At least 50% of my students have moved on to the next level, and more 10% have stuck with it for more than a year. I am currently 5 weeks into a a 10 week class with a group of adults that are, on average, 30 years old.  Tonight I noticed that their greatest impediment to pronouncing Chinese correctly was the inclination to simply over emphasize their English tonality.  I am pretty sure I did the same thing 15 years ago when I started learning mandarin, but eventually I became fascinated by the rhythm  of Mandarin. 

My question is: how do I convince my students to stop speaking Mandarin with an English accent.

15 hours ago, mirgcire said:

how do I convince my students to stop speaking Mandarin with an English accent.

There's no convincing to be done. They all probably want to speak like a newscaster, but they don't know what the problem is and what they should do. An English accent is made up of many phonological patterns, and different learners exhibit different ones to different degrees. You can start with how your think about and describe phonological errors. Make sure you know exactly what the problem is, and what has to change to make it correct. You can't be satisfied with describing the problem as "English tonality." What does that mean?

• If it means "there are no phonemic tones," break down utterances into single syllables, then two syllables, then four, etc.
  • If it means "plosives are voiced where they should not be," explain how English lacks voiceless unaspirated plosives except after fricatives such as /s/, and say "spy" and stuff and try to isolate the "py" part.