Chinese-Forums

Beginner level books\courses\sites with a lot of exercises?

vivea

I'm studying Chinese at the moment, but I feel like there aren't enough exercises for me to really practice word usage and grammar. I even start to forget what I learnt the previous week, even though I'm using SRS, and I feel really unsure about my grammar. So basically what I really learnt are Chinese words and I can write them in hanzi and I can read and understand sentences with them... but I feel like that's all I'm really learning, and I have a problem speaking and writing myself, it's too slow and I don't feel confident that my grammar is correct. So I need something with a lot of exercises and preferably answer keys available. Something that would make me actually practice speaking\writing a lot.

Suggestions, please?

Hello and welcome to the forum.

There are lots of things available, its hard to suggest them all. I will start you off with a some and maybe others will add their ideas.

I would highly recommend HelloChinese. This is an app for android or iOS. The basic app is free but you can pay for premium content which I don't think is too expensive but you can start without it and decide for yourself. This has lessons on different subjects with practice for speaking, listening, writing, and reading with excellent grammar notes. Have a look here http://www.hellochinese.cc/

You don't say which SRS you are using, I would suggest Pleco for its dictionary capabilities and its excellent flashcards. http://www.pleco.com/

Lastly I would suggest using a text book. Work through all the lessons, workbooks and exercises, listen to the audio and shadow it. I really like New Practical Chinese Reader. In my blog (link below) I describe how I use it and more about all my learning methods and materials.

Hope this helps. 

Oh sorry, I didn't explain what I'm doing well enough.