Chinese-Forums

could you help me? Im in China. I dont have my passport now

SuperRacoon

hello, everyone.

I'm a student who is studying in Tsinghua.

On this thursday, 02 of august, i applied for renewal my student visa via visa agency.

So, now I dont have passport. 

But, today, urgently, my friend asked me to help his busniess in Ghuanzhou.

In this situation, is there the way for me to travel to ghuanzhou?

I asked visa agency about it, he said no.

do you think i can get permit to travel the city if i go to public security bureau?

thanks

One time I tried to buy a train ticket and I forgot to take my passport. They wouldn't accept a photo ID. I was unable to buy the ticket. I had to return to my apartment, get my passport, and go back to the ticket office.

SuperRacoon, perhaps your friend could arrange a car or taxi...? Black taxi...?

2 hours ago, NinjaTurtle said:

They wouldn't accept a photo ID.

Some European countries have a Photo ID card which is accepted for international travel within Europe instead of a passport. About the same size/format as what PRC nationals use to get into trains stations. 

I wondered if that might do the trick.  Maybe not.

3 hours ago, ChTTay said:

I’ve heard / read of people trying to fly with it and having to argue for a long time before they let them on the flight.

I have done this, argued for about 5 mins at the check in, then another five minutes at customs, but got through in the end.

I have traveled by bus without passport many times, but they are meant to check for them now. I was caught out once, and the security just ushered me through quietly.

Driving licenses/other forms of ID acceptable in other countries are not accepted anywhere in China from my experience.