Chinese-Forums

I can't hear the T sound in jintian, only a P sound

Pietro Pedrini

I started learning mandarin this week, and so far I've been using the PopUp chinese podcasts to study, and in this specific podcast, "A Good Scrubbing", the first word is Jintian(I don't know how to type the tone marks) and after listening to it several times I still can't hear a T sound, only a P one.

the podcast: http://popupchinese.com/lessons/absolute-beginners/a-good-scrubbing

Hello and welcome to the forum.

It can be difficult to hear the different sounds sometimes, it could be the way the speaker talks or the quality of the recording or even the quality of the reproduction equipment ie the speakers/headphones, amplifier etc that you use. It is most likely though to be that fact the you have just started and you need time to tune your ear to the sounds and rhythms of the language.

The link you provided doesn't work. It needs to copied from the address bar in your browser and pasted to enable it to be clicked and linked. Try again and then we can listen and see where your problem might be.

Edit from here

Well I cut and pasted your link and couldn't find where there is an audio track using Jintian, admittedly I didn't spend too long looking.

Well that was weird, what a strange topic for a lesson. Never was keen on these podcasts, never liked the presenters.

So try and see if you can pinpoint the exact place you are having trouble and post a link to that, it might help.  

Edited by Shelley
second attempt