Chinese-Forums

Second Master's Degree

Tiri

Hi guys!

I am currently doing a Master's Degree at Shanghai Jiao Tong University on the university scholarship. After I graduate, I'd like to apply for another Master's Degree, however I'm not sure if there is a possibility to get a Government Scholarship (CSC) for Master's when I already studied in Master's program, even though by the time of application I will have not yet graduated (therefore the highest acquired diploma is Bachelor's Degree).

Anyone tried it or heard about such cases?

Thank you!

• 1 month later...

Tiri or anyone else, do you have up-to-date information on this? Is it possible to get the CSC for a Master's degree course if you already have a Master's degree? It mentions Bachelor degree as a requirement for a Master's degree course, so I am wondering if that means "Bachelor or above", or really just Bachelor. 

Or is it the case that I can only apply for a PhD course, since I already have a Master's?

I spoke to a guy on Facebook who claims he has done that, but it was a less popular university, so he was fairly sure that he'd get admitted. I also looked through the requirements for scholarships and admissions, and nowhere does it say that you cannot apply if you already have a degree (like it does with a scholarship, where you can only have one at a time). That's all I know for now, but I'll keep asking around and reporting back ?

I'm curious about this too, but for a Bachelor's degree rather than a Masters. I found this forum post which briefly touches on that (https://www.chinese-forums.com/forums/topic/56319-confucius-institute-scholarship-2018-scholarship-for-bachelor’s-degree-in-teaching-chinese-to-speakers-of-other-languages-btcsol/) and asked for details, but never received a response.

TL:DR - following this thread

• 1 year later...