Chinese-Forums

Can't feel any progress

vivea

Hello everyone, I can't find a way to make myself feel like I'm having progress. I never thought that it would become a problem, but it is.

I tried the first thing that comes to mind: obtain HSK word lists and use them to measure my progress. I'm not going for HSK exams, but that's one way to measure progress...

HSK1   74.67% known   HSK2   28.29% known   HSK3   8.94% known   HSK4   1.83% known

So, I marked all known words in first 4 lists that I know, but that didn't help me feel like I got better. In comparison to what, to the point of zero? I started learning Chinese about a month and a week ago. I can understand very simple texts, and all those words I've marked in HSK lists as "known" I can write, so I really "know" them (there were more of those that I recognize but have doubts about writing, and those I didn't mark as known). So, I probably should clap and say 'Yay!', but somehow cold numbers don't do the job. Numbers may seem OK, but when I actually try reading anything beyond the lesson texts and dialogues in studybooks...

I'm not sure what my problem is. Do you guys have an idea?

///Extra