Chinese-Forums

Trying to clarify documentary research query

aroundthebell

• New Members

Hello,

I am new to the forum and I am seeking assistance in understanding the meaning of a Chinese speaker's response to a query on a video I have been asked to assist with research on. To give some background and context: I am a researcher in masculinity/masculinity practices, and I was asked to precis an independent  documentary video with English voice-overs on the situation of Chinese baby boys in this regard, viewed in comparison to a Western perspective. The section of the video that led to my original query was a scene with a woman holding a Chinese baby boy, about 8 months of age. As the woman and the baby boy are shown, the English voice-over says, in part, "There are various practices that may have implications for the perceptions of masculinity of baby boys, such as if the boy is  circumcised, for example". Because of the context given by the voice-over, I did wonder if the suggestion was that the boy featured in the segment was being referred to as having been circumcised, or whether the implication was that Western baby boys may be circumcised, but he as a Chinese baby boy would not be circumcised. In order to clarify this, I wanted to write to a Chinese speaker who was involved in the documentary project. However, since I have very little knowledge of Chinese, I relied upon an English-speaking project member who thought they may be able to help, though I had no real way of authenticating their efforts. Since I was effectively ‘flying blind’ with regard to whatever the English-speaker might translate on my behalf, I asked that they produce a ‘bare bones’ query, that would not portray the presentation of the baby boy featured in the segment in a negative light, but would also clarify the context of the voice-over and could be asked easily. They suggested that the relevant scene could be asked about simply in these terms: “爱的宝宝。 他有包皮?”. Ultimately, the Chinese spe