Chinese-Forums

X Visa part-time remote work

lewbomear

Hi guys

I am coming to Beijing to study Chinese. I've been accepted for a one year course but was given an x2 visa - I was told I can extend it when I reconfirm that I'll be staying a second term. 

The company I was working with asked me if I wanted to continue working part-time while I am studying but I find the visa question a bit murky. The only official source I found only mentions the student visa as a prerequisite for part-time work/internship. No specific information is given about x1 and x2. The company has a branch in China and I told my manager that it would be best to contact them and see what they say. 

If that doesn't work out, I guess it would be an option to remain on a contract in my country and get paid in my country while studying in China. The work I do is entirely remote, so I would effectively not be an employee in China. Is there anything I should be wary of? Has anyone been in a similar situation? Another question I have is whether this sort of arrangement would be recognised as work experience if I later decide to apply for a working visa after finishing my studies? Could there be repercussions? 

Cheers

• Good question! 1

Tricky on several levels perhaps. 

1 - tax. How does being in China longer than 6 months (X1 vs X2) affect your tax situation?

2 - double taxation - are you a citizen of the USA or the one other (IIRC?) country that taxes citizens overseas?

3 - are you planning to do this "under the radar"?  Not sure about X2 but for X1 you're supposed to have written permission from your university if you want to work. 

There are many websites out there now catering to "digital nomads" who travel the world while working online and "earning in other countries".  They might be better places to get sensible answers.  From the limited research I've done myself, many people prefer to keep this quiet, in other words "under the radar".

Some links: