Chinese-Forums

Listening skill confusion needs help

echoinvalley

• New Members

Hi every one! I’m a new comer here and have a question needs your help.

As a Chinese I have been learning English for many years and have a long-standing question around my mind that can only be answered by foreigners who learn Chinese.

Upon my experience understanding standard English news broadcast is much easier than English TV dramas or movies. An intermediate level English learner could get most of the standard English news broadcast after 3 to 4 months of intensified listening practice on a daily basis(1~2hous/day). But it’s a totally different story when comes to English TV dramas and movies. I find understand it is way much harder!!! It could take a great deal of work and time but still goes nowhere. I’m still struggling with it......

I came across some post on line of a foreigner who talked about his experience of learning Chinese. He commented that it was pretty easy for him to pick up Chinese TV dramas or TV entertainment program and understood it fully when he was living in China. But it was quite hard for him to get a rough idea of the local news broadcast even he had lived in China for over 3 years. In that thread I found pretty some foreigners who learn Chinese agree with him.

In the past I assumed that those who learn Chinese as a foreign language will probably have the same difficult situation as we Chinese learn English. I think they would find Chinese live TV program or TV dramas, movies are more difficult to understand just as we think of English. But sounds like it’s not the case.

Since I don’t know a foreign soul, let alone any foreigner who learns Chinese, so this is something I really curious about but cannot get any answer.

Can you help me to shed some light on my puzzle?   ------ As a foreigner who learns Chinese as a second language Chinese TV dramas, movies are much easier to understand than Chinese standard news broadcast for you, is this the case?