Chinese-Forums

Intermediate Plateau

cliveface96

Hi guys,

I've been learning Chinese for a couple of years now, just spent 6 months in China studying and am now back in my home country. I'm still studying for a 2-3 hours everyday, but I feel like I'm not making any progress. I spend most of my time on listening and speaking practice. I feel like I have the same grammar problems when I speak, I struggle to express myself on different topics and I often take a while to think what to say/recognise certain words. 

I'm really struggling with motivation right now, mainly because as of next year the amount of time I'm going to have available to study is going to drop right back down to <1 hour a day (maybe a few each day on the weekend). How can I make progress in the future if I'm barely making any progress now? 

How long did it take you to get past the intermediate plateau? And how did you do it? Does anyone have any advice? 

Cheers

You don't feel like you are making progress because once you learn something, there is always another thing new coming up or something to improve upon. This happens even for non-language subjects. I am sure you are doing very well.

• Like 1

The fact that you are even writing about the plateau and know what it is means that you already know that it is a subjective thing. It means that you already know quite a bit of Chinese, and to notice improvement you have to learn much more.

• Like 1

I worked hard at Chinese as a hobby until I became demotivated by how little I could do with my Chinese considering the mountains of work I'd put in. Then I basically gave up but I remained interested in the region and language and always imagined myself as being temporarily on a break while I strategised a genius new way of learning or something.