Chinese-Forums

Chinese 漫画

Nicholas 陈

• New Members

Hello 

I'm not really sure if anybody has the same motivation to learn Chinese as I do. I started learning Chinese because I want to read manhuas 漫画. Basically, it's Chinese mangas. I can say that my level of Chinese is around A2-B1. Most of the times, I read Chinese manhuas rather than trying to learn things from books. If I don't understand it, I translate it, take notes occasionally, and try to pronounce it. 

My question is, Is this kind of "learning" really effective? if not, what methods would you suggest?

I think this kind of learning will be effective in that you will get pretty good at reading manhua. You will not necessarily get good at other things, such as writing or speaking/listening, because you are not practicing those aspects. I think it might be helpful if you learn some grammar, because you might not necessarily recognise some patterns when you come across them in the wild. Also, if you take a guess at pronunciation without any instruction or anyone correcting you, you run a great risk of developing very bad pronunciation. So if you hope to speak Chinese at some point, you might want to work on that as well.

But all in all, if you are enjoying what you're doing, and feel like you are getting better at it, I think you should continue on.

Also, search the forums for 漫画. We have had a few threads about Chinese and Japanese 漫画 and discussions about learning from them. Perhaps you have something to add!

20 hours ago, Nicholas 陈 said:

Is this kind of "learning" really effective?

No, not really

20 hours ago, Nicholas 陈 said:

what methods would you suggest?

The only way to do it is to put in a lot of hard work. Get a textbook, take a class, practice speaking Chinese with someone, etc. I teach English to Chinese students. A lot of my students think they can learn to speak English by simply watching movies in English. Sorry, it doesn't work that way.

13 hours ago, NinjaTurtle said: