Chinese-Forums

Travel and study Chinese in China on a wheelchair

Andrea Vh

• New Members

Hello,

i'm Andrea i'm 29, i'm from Italy and i'm on a wheelchair (i think this detail it's important to have more accurate advices :) ).

I like to travel solo, and this year i thought it would be amazing to visit China for one o two months on jan-feb-march 2019.

I also thought that a good way to spend my time there, and know more about China, could be taking chinese lessons (i'm a complete beginner).

So, i started my research, looking for short courses in Beijing and i found out that most of private schools are more expansive than i expected (That's Mandarin, LTL).

Universities may be the right choise for me, also because i would like to live a real chinese-student routine in a real chinese-student place and make friends with chinese students!

I know that private schools are the easiest way but i'm looking for the most authentic chinese experience i can find spending less money as possible :)

Anyone of you have some particular advice for me?

Like:

Universities in which is more probably they accept my application?

City that is more wheelchair friendly?

Cheaper way to find accomodation that fits my needs? (like distance from school, easy access to subway..)

I traveled solo many times, and did 2 months in Thailand last year, so keep in mind that wheelchair is not a insurmountable problem! :)

Thank you in advance for your replies, i will have some more question for sure!

Andrea

• Thanks 1
  • Good question! 3

China is just starting to embrace the concept of being wheelchair friendly. For example, subway stations now usually have an elevator as well as stairs and escalators. And city busses usually have a small section for one or two wheelchairs. Having said that, lots of public buildings only have stairs at the street entrance, especially if they were not recently built. (Newer ones have a ramp.)