Chinese-Forums

Strategies for looking for uni jobs early

LaoDing

It's me again asking about the best ways to look for jobs. Since my last attempt was not phrased well, I'll try again:

First, I don't wish to come off as a whiner. The following are the facts as I see them. It could be worse, yes, but it could be better.

I'm looking for a position teaching is a public university from September 2019.  The university need not be highly ranked or anything, just an institution that at least offers a B.A. (and no 'international' student teaching or teaching students who failed the 高考). My experience is extensive, varied, and long; my credentials are nothing impressive and no M.A. or CELTA. I do have certificates in language proficiency (Chinese and Japanese), six credit hours in TESOL as a university course, and a ridiculously easy to pass 180-hour iTTT certificate (sorry if anyone found that hard- I have a lot of experience).

While some people reading this may find the complaining irrelevant to the point, I would just like to say I'm describing it as others may be in the same position as me and able to relate. It's not like these are my first EFL classes either. I've been teaching for decades and know all about class management, preparation, and all the other requirements of good teaching. As far as I'm concerned, I'm in a bad environment. Now, perhaps I could change that and I'm willing to try. But I'm also very interested in introducing myself to some other schools.

Well, lest this thread starts going on a CELTA et al slant, I just want to say I'm not interested, or frankly able, to engage in any of that this year or the next. I'm helping my daughter through university and trying to raise my Chinese credentials. I am also a proofreader and translator, and the older I get the more attractive that work becomes.