Chinese-Forums

Traditional chinese textbooks

tmho160

Hello all.

I've been looking all over the place for books to teach me to read and write only in traditional chinese. I went on amazon and searched a load of times but most of them are simplified chinese or are intergrated with speaking and listening. I want a book that teaches me how to read and write chinese like the 語文課本書 you get from china but in traditional chinese where as it teaches you vocab within some 課文. I'v tried looking around in bookshops but most don't even sell things related to china, let alone textbooks. Please help. I want a book aimed at a level from begginer to intermediate or 二年班上冊。Thanx.

There's a traditional version of Reading and Writing Chinese: A Guide to the Chinese Writing System by William McNaughton. It's good for learning to write traditional characters. (Before I went to mainland I started learning to write characters from it and then I discovered simplified characters.) Also, I know I've bought Chinese textbooks with traditional characters published by Chinese University Press (Hong Kong) from Barnes and Nobles before. These are more intermediate to advanced works though. Some of their books are at http://www.chineseupress.com/english/e_front_page.html and then you can look up the titles at B&N or Amazon. ?

• 2 weeks later...

I know this reply is stale, but for what it's worth ....

From the Far Eastern Press catalog

http://www.yale.edu/fep/catalog/standard2.html

------------------

THE STANDARD CHINESE SERIES