Chinese-Forums

Experience in low-pollution cities?

matteo

Hi all, 

I'm passionate about Chinese culture and language and have been thinking for a while of spending a period in China living and working. 

I am an engineer so could probably look for an expat job, but most likely would prefer teaching english as I think it would allow for more free time and opportunities to explore and socialize with people (which is kind of the point, isn't it).

My biggest concern at the moment is that my partner suffers quite severely from asthma; I know most cities in China are quite polluted and have a very bad rap on that, but I'm finding hard to understand 

1) how bad it actually is? should someone suffering from asthma avoid China at all costs because the risk is life-threatening?

2) Are there any practical options for having a China experience in less popular spots than say Beijing or Shanghai, which might also be less polluted and safer under that point of view?

Thank you very much for your suggeestions!

There are regions of China where the environment is clean, but these tend to be in remote and underdeveloped areas, and not the kind of place you'd want to be stranded if you need hospitalization.

I suspect that it will also be difficult to find a job of any description that is in a place remote or undeveloped enough to be clean.

Depends on what level of pollution you're talking about and what you mean by "practical."

The north has been getting better, but still has plenty of days that go over 300 PM2.5; that is pretty bad. In Hangzhou/Shanghai/Suzhou, you can expect most days to have some pollution (~100) from fall to spring, and bad days can go over 200. This is today, says it's around 159 PM2.5:

1110198039_WeChatImage_20190117083834.thumb.jpg.82c7e08d38934a9e1ad39ec99cb2f7b9.jpg

1174625314_WeChatImage_20190117083528.thumb.jpg.a2df28c75376da8e4fcecfa1c6862d4a.jpg1146374646_WeChatImage_20190117083534.thumb.jpg.01cc34680c8f4522c85d736a2f5547bf.jpg