Chinese-Forums

Help choosing a name...

NEMO

(Closed)

Hi! I recently started learning Mandarin, and I figure it would be a good idea to choose a Mandarin name to accompany my studies and to inteoduce myself with Chinese speakers.

The catch that makes this a little difficult is that the name I use in english is already a chosen name that I took great care in choosing, and I’m hoping that I can emulate a similar idea in Chinese. I go by “Nemo” which comes from Latin meaning “No one” or “nobody.” I don’t mean it in a negative connotation. Quite the contrary, I mean it in a sense of “could be anybody.”

I chose this name because I often feel that I have multiple identities or sides of my personality, yet I often feel like I’m not one distinct person. So for me Nemo means something like “Nobody in particular, but could be anybody.”

I was hoping to get a similar concept in Mandarin, but I’m not sure of using a direct translation of “nobody” would be acceptable.

I found that 没有人 (mei you ren) means nobody, which is a rough translation of Nemo in its original definition... Could this work, and would people understand that as a name? Or is there a better alternative with a similar notion that won’t leave people too stumped by an unusual name?

Hello and welcome to the forum.

I don't thing that it would be a good idea to use 没有人 as a name. You don't actually call yourself Nobody in English you use Nemo. You have also attached your own meaning of “Nobody in particular, but could be anybody.” 

This not what nobody means, it means no people. Nobody was at the show, means no people were at the show. not no people in particular but could be any people. If you substitute people for body it shows the meaning more clearly. 

I don't think anyone would recognise the use of 没有人 as a name.

Although I don't normally recommend it, you could use a transliteration of Nemo, so you find 2 characters that have the sound Ne and Mo. This might work better.