Chinese-Forums

Learn Chinese Through Songs

Singing Mandarin

Hi everyone! Newbie here☺️  I've just started a website that teaches Mandarin in a fun and engaging way through Chinese pop songs. If anyone here is interested, feel free to check out the website at: singingmandarin.com or follow the Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/singingmandarin

Cheers! ?

• Like 2

Welcome to the site. I like the look of what you're doing. 

One suggestion - in the lyrics on the page, you have the pinyin properly separated by word (ie yòu huídào le yuándiǎn ). In the videos it's more huí dào le yuán diǎn. I'd do the videos like you do the words, even if it does mean the pinyin getting out of line with the characters.

• Thanks 1

@roddy thank you for the input! I've actually been debating with myself on that pinyin issue as well. My only concern is that it may be visually disrupting to the viewers, especially with faster songs where words tend to fly by really fast. But now that you brought it up, I might actually reconsider changing the layout format... In any case, major thanks! ?

Really love this idea as I currently just go to random sites from google search. One thing that would be really great if you can do a traditional characters version as I’m learning traditional characters. I must say I love learning through songs mainly because the sentences are fairly short and they give me a sense of satisfaction when I realise I understand a few lines at a time. Plus they’re super catchy so I can repeat them as many times as I like. 

• Like 2

21 minutes ago, amytheorangutan said: