Chinese-Forums

Few simple expression - could you please correct?

arekmalarz

• New Members

Hello everyone!

This is my first post here and I'd like to say Hi to all the members!

I just started learning Mandarin, the way I usually start a new language is through the below list of most important (for me) expressions. You know, something to start with (and to practice tones and basic signs). Below is the list of my phrases. 

Would any of you be kind enough to check if the following phrases are written correctly? Both characters and pinyin.

Thank you in advance

Arek

ENGLISH

PINYIN

CHARACTERS

yes

shì

no

Méiyǒu

没有

maybe

Yěxǔ

也许

how are you?

Nǐ hǎo ma?

你好

What's your name?

Nǐ jiào shénme míngzì?

你叫什么名字?

My name is...

Wǒ jiào

我叫

Nice to meet you

Hěn gāoxìng jiàn dào nǐ

很高到你

please

Qǐng

thank you

Xièxiè

谢谢

hello

Nǐ hǎo

你好

good bye

Zàijiàn

再见

have a nice day!

Zhù nǐ jīntiān yúkuài!

祝你今天愉快!

excuse me

Láojià

劳驾

I'm sorry

Duìbùqǐ

不起

Do you speak english?

Nǐ néng shuō yīngyǔ ma?

yingwen(英文)
yingyu(英

你会说英语吗?
英文?

I speak a little Mandarin

Wǒ shuō yīdiǎn pǔtōnghuà

一点普通

I teach myself

Wǒ jiào zìjǐ

我教自己

I don't understang

Wǒ bù míngbái

我不明白

what does it mean?

Zhè shì shénme yìsi

是什么意思

This is good

Zhè hěn hǎo

这很好

this is very good

Zhè shì fēicháng hǎo

这是非常好

This is no good

Zhè bù hǎo

这不好

Oh Really?

Zhēn de ma?

真的

This

Zhège

这个

yes and no don't work like in English, so in many situations the words you have written will not make sense; the way to say yes and no is context dependent, so spend a bit of time reading up this point in a grammar book (eg Modern Mandarin Chinese Grammar)

Nice to meet you is also context dependent, and is not used like in English, or perhaps other languages you have previously learned?