Chinese-Forums

I think I'm doing something wrong here

NiklasPh

Hi

Shortly about my background. I'm studying industrial engineering and mandarin for about 2 years in Taiwan. First for 3x3h a week at the NTU and now for the last 9 month 5x2h a week at the Shida.

My reading and writing improved alot and I'm at the upper part of B1 or lower part of B2. My listening skills are also more or less decent beside if my father in law tries to tell me anything because he is constantly mixing up mandarin and taiwanese :roll:
However, my speaking skills are almost not existing. I have a hard time recalling the proper grammar/ patterns when it comes to speaking. 

Do you have any tips for fixing this issue beside just speaking? I know in the end only speaking will help but I can't even get out more than a basic sentence or it takes way too long for even a half decent response to an answer at the moment.

Thanks in advance.

• Good question! 2

it might seem like a cop out answer but "practice makes perfect" especially with speaking. 

Try not to tense up when someone speaks to you and if you don't understand, tell them straight out, don't let the conversationion fail immediately at the first hurdle and walk away dejected. With speaking you often need to stumble your way through as unlike reading its a real time action.  Don't be afraid to ask them if they don't understand as remember they will also can well be a bit put off by a foreigner speaking chinese. 

1 hour ago, NiklasPh said:

However, my speaking skills are almost not existing. I have a hard time recalling the proper grammar/ patterns when it comes to speaking. 

Most everyday run of the mill speaking (i.e. not a lecture, presentation) whether in any language seems like it mostly contains simple grammar so I wouldn't get too worried about that.  Also a slight delay before speaking can be great to collect your thoughts rather than immediately blurt out a sentence. This only takes seconds and can be enough.