Chinese-Forums

Too many languages?

xiaojiang216

Hi everyone,

I'm in high school... and they only offer French, Spanish, and Latin as languages in my school. I must pass 2 classes, I think, of language to graduate. I've been taking Spanish since like 7th grade, and I'm in 10th now... But at the same time, I've been studying Mandarin for 3 years. But since they do not offer that, I'm studying with a Yale professor. I would like to study abroad in college, and I want to take up Cantonese also. Will this be too much for me? I really just want to focus on just Mandarin and Cantonese, but then again I'm in an advanced Spanish course... I'm in between a rock and a hard place!

Is there such thing as too many languages to learn at the same time? I'm sure there are many cunning linguists here that think it's no problem, but I was wondering what everyone thinks.

Thank you all verrrrrrrrrrry much!

I went to school with a girl whose mother was Japanese, father was Swedish, she studied Spanish and French at an English speaking school ... at age 13 she spoke 5 language fluently and could read and write fluently in all of them.

I'm sure you'll cope just fine if you have the interest and motivation to work at keeping all of them current.

Artichoke, she learned to speak Spanish fluently simply by attending elementary school? Must have been boarding school. When I was in elementary school, we had Spanish class for about an hour a month. :roll: We had Latin class a little more regularly, but it was actually just "mythology storytime" and we didn't really learn any latin.

xiaojiang, I'm not warning against studying too many languages, but there are other interesting subjects, like music, electronics, etc.